I know, it’s hard to forgive, but . . .

Have you forgiven? I have. 

It’s not easy. 

I was badly wounded by people I loved and trusted. It nearly destroyed me.

I realized to move forward, I must forgive. But then I became a serial forgiver, having to forgive over and again the same ones who hurt me so badly. 

I’d forgive, then the feelings of hurt, rejection, and shame would return. And so would my bitterness. Those people were no longer in my life and were a thousand miles away, but every once in a while the pain would pop up as fresh as the first sting of betrayal.

So I’d forgive. Again.

It’s not easy.

It took me over a decade to come to grips with the pain of betrayal and rejection. 

It’s not easy.

I chose to embrace this thought, “When we forgive it doesn’t mean the pain never existed. It means the damage no longer controls our lives.”

Healing doesn’t mean the damage never existed. It means the damage no longer has control over our emotions. 

If you’ve been wounded, I hope you can forgive. Forgiveness gives you a sense of power that allows you to face the pain and move beyond it. 

Forgiveness gives you freedom, and that freedom opens a door. 

Forgive. 

It’s not easy. 

But forgive anyway.

Leave a Reply

